Health Sciences Education

Complete 14 health science subjects in one of the following ways before you apply for the exam:

  • Be educated in one of the clinical healthcare professions on the Recognised Health Professions List (listed below) OR provide evidence from a governmental authority that recognises your profession as a clinical health profession.
    • Dentist
    • Dietician
    • Midwife
    • Nurse
    • Occupational Therapist
    • Pharmacist
    • Physical Therapist or Physiotherapist
    • Physician or Medical Doctor
    • Speech Pathologist or Therapist
  • Complete education in the 14 health science subjects described in the Health Science Education Guide. The Health Sciences Summary is provided to assist you with this requirement.

NOTE: The IBCLC Commission doesn’t offer, approve, recommend or endorse any particular higher education institution or education provider of the Health Sciences Education courses.

Click here to return to Step 1: Prepare for IBCLC Certification