Step 1: Prepare for IBCLC Recertification

IBCLC recertification reassures the public that we serve that IBCLCs remain the most trusted source for lactation and breastfeeding care. The purpose of IBCLC recertification is to promote continued competence through professional development and lifelong learning. IBCLCs are required to recertify every five years to maintain their credential.

All recertifying IBCLCs must meet three requirements during each five-year recertification cycle:

Requirement 1: Basic Life Support Education

Examples of education that meet this are Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP). A didactic and/or virtual basic life support course will be sufficient to meet the requirement. As healthcare professionals conducting in-person care, it is important to maintain basic life support education for client and patient safety. Certificants selected for audit will be asked to submit their card or certificate as proof of basic life support education.

Requirement 2: 250 Hours of Practice in Lactation Consulting

Clinical practice hours may be full- or part-time in the area(s) of education, administration, research, clinical practice, or advocacy.  These hours may be earned as a volunteer or paid professional, or a combination of both. The Lactation Specific Clinical Practice Calculator can assist with calculating these hours and can be submitted in the case of audit.

Requirement 3: Select & Complete One Recertification Method
(IBCLC Examination or Recertification by CERPs)

Beginning with IBCLCs due to recertify in 2022, IBCLCs are no longer required to recertify by examination every ten years. Now, there are two options for every five-year recertification cycle:

Option 1: Recertification by Examination

Complete Basic Life Support Education
Complete 250 Hours of Clinical Practice
Apply for the IBCLC Examination
Sit the IBCLC Examination

The IBCLC examination remains an option for recertification but is no longer a requirement.

Learn more here.


Option 2: Recertification by Continuing Education Recognition Points (CERPs) with Continuing Education Self-Assessment
(CE Self-Assessment)

Take the CE Self-Assessment
Complete Required CERPs
Complete Basic Life Support Education
Complete 250 Hours of Clinical Practice
Apply to Recertify by CERPs

Continuing education, now guided by the CE Self-Assessment, helps IBCLCs demonstrate the comprehensive knowledge and skills required to practise as an IBCLC. IBCLCs are required to take the CE Self-Assessment to identify their competences based upon the current IBCLC Detailed Content Outline. Using the Personalised Professional Development Plan (PPDP) generated by the CE Self-Assessment, IBCLCs are then required to complete 75 CERPs.

Learn more here.

Click here if you are ready for Step 2: Recertification Fees & Deadlines
Click here if you are ready for Step 3: Apply for Recertification