IBLCE Receives Reaccreditation of the IBCLC Certification Programme


Contact: Sara Blair Lake, J.D., CAE
Chief Executive Officer
For Immediate Release
December 17, 2018
The International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners®
Receives Reaccreditation of the
International Board Certified Lactation Consultant® Programme
from the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) of the
Institute for Credentialing Excellence
WASHINGTON, D.C., December 17, 2018—The NCCA reaccredited the International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners certification programme for a five-year term during a recent meeting.
Founded in 1985, IBLCE® is a professional certification organisation acting in the public interest by establishing eligibility, examination, experience and ethics requirements for certification in lactation consulting. Currently, over 30,000 in 108 countries are certified to use the IBCLC® designation. The IBCLC certification examination is offered in 18 languages. The IBCLC programme first received NCCA accreditation in 1988 and has held this prestigious third-party accreditation continuously for thirty years.
IBLCE earned renewal of NCCA accreditation of its IBCLC programme, the gold standard in lactation care, by submitting an extensive application demonstrating the programme’s compliance with the NCCA’s Standards for the Accreditation of Certification Programs. Upon receiving news of the reaccreditation of the IBCLC certification programme, Chair Roberto Mário Issler, M.D., IBCLC said, “It is a testament to the excellence and quality of the IBCLC programme that it has held this valued and prestigious third-party accreditation continuously for thirty years. Since 1988, the IBCLC certification has been the mark of excellence in professional lactation care recognised by consumers, healthcare providers, employers and other stakeholders.”
NCCA is the accrediting body of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence. Since 1977, the NCCA has been accrediting certifying programmes based on the highest quality of standards in professional certification to ensure the programmes adhere to recognised standards of practice in the certification industry. The accreditation standards cover a number of aspects associated with quality certification programmes including governance, psychometrics, maintenance of certification, transparency to the public regarding programme requirements, and quality assurance. There are currently just over 300 NCCA accredited programmes that certify individuals in a wide range of professions and occupations, including those in healthcare.
The mission of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence is to advance credentialing through education, standards, research, and advocacy to ensure competence across professions and occupations. NCCA’s mission is to help ensure the health, welfare, and safety of the public through the accreditation of a variety of certification programmes that assess professional competency. NCCA uses a peer review process to: establish accreditation standards; evaluate compliance with these standards; recognise programmes which demonstrate compliance; and serve as a resource on quality certification.